top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureJames Collins

Oscars 2018: Dunkirk

Updated: Dec 16, 2019


"In May 1940, Germany advanced into France, trapping Allied troops on the beaches of Dunkirk. Under air and ground cover from British and French forces, troops were slowly and methodically evacuated from the beach using every serviceable naval and civilian vessel that could be found. At the end of this heroic mission, 330,000 French, British, Belgian and Dutch soldiers were safely evacuated."


I KNOW IT'S IMPORTANT TO NOT FORGET THE WAR(s), I KNOW IT'S IMPORTANT TO RESPECT THOSE WHO DIED FOR US. I know, I know, I still didn't enjoy myself, sorry. My usual problem with war films is that they tend to glorify the act of war and violence; are hugely patriotic; hugely xenophobic/ racist (yes I know we were at war with these countries then, but we're not now are we? BUT we ARE in an age where xenophobia is peddled to the masses on the daily (mail). idk. doesn't sit right with me, sue me) and generally - dead boring. Dunkirk doesn't do a lot of those things which is obviously to it's credit. It still doesn't really work as a film for me though.


Positives - it's cinematic as all hell, say what you want about Christopher Nolan (I know no one ever does except me but still, I like to invite criticism about that boring man) but he knows how to give you DRAMA, henny. It's also bleak, loud, scary, tense - all the emotions that this event should instil in you.

Negatives - I didn't... care? I understand he took a creative decision in giving the main character virtually nothing to say or do; I understand that this is probably to convey that he could be anyone, so we can see ourselves in this role and experience this nightmare through his eyes (not unlike Bella in Twilight). But... I didn't? I didn't want him to die because he seemed sweet enough but I can't even remember if we even heard his name or not. He had no discernible personality and could quite easily have been switched out for a different lad half way through the film and I wouldn't have noticed. For me, this just didn't work. Sorry. I also understand it was a creative decision to make this whole film one big, bloated third act. But again, that didn't really work for me either. Finally to top it all off, Nigel Farage posted a picture of himself grinning like a hell clown in front of the poster. Nail in the coffin that one, Nige. (side note - didn't he go and speak at a far right rally in Germany like the weekend after that? Did he watch the film? lol we're all going to die at the hands of these bloated men)


Also, some gleeful dudebro online pointed out that you could easily cut and paste this and Darkest Hour together and make 'the perfect war film'. Why are men like this? I'd rather have root canal surgery.


WHO THIS FILM IS FOR:

Men who like WAR - and some hardcore Styles fans who would conceivably sit through a snuff film if he did a cameo.


WHAT THIS FILM DOES WELL:

BIG LONG SHOTS OF BOMBINGS.


WHAT THIS FILM DOESN'T DO DEAD WELL:

Story, character, pace, structure.


WHAT THIS FILM IS COMPARABLE TO:

Every other fucking war film ever made.


WEIRDEST MOMENT:

Harry Styles.


OSCAR POTENCH?:

Errrr... weird one. I'm surprised it got nominated if I'm honest, even if the academy does have a boner for war.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page